It is fall, and as always all my thoughts revolve around red, orange and yellow things: leaves (of course), and food, and the warmth of fire, suddenly appealing again.

A couple of weeks ago, I had 2 hours to kill at a mall. I was with my nephew, and neither of us had any desire for window shopping or spending money. So we invested in 2 steaming cups of mint tea and a pile of books at Borders, and had a lovely time of silence. I managed to go through all this pile, and learned many interesting things in the process, like how hoods are knit into a cardigan, and how to make certain quilt patches that seem hard but are made in an ingenious way.

DSC05172

I also had a lot of root vegetables to play with, and came up with a meal of 3 side dishes, all complementing each other (no main dish). I found an excellent recipe for Garlicky baked butternut squash from All recipes. We made it without cheese (because we didn’t have any), and it was still very tasty. I also mashed sweet potatoes and yellow potatoes, with their skins on and lots of grated garlic. It was a very yummy meal, perfect for showcasing our new square dishes.

DSC05193

Even the buns looked orange.

DSC05195

Last Monday (which I had off from work) we went up Bear Bare Mountain. It was a lovely walk, and we were rewarded with soothing views from the top.

DSC05202

I walked along with a very nice woman I had just met, and we had a nice, easy hike talking about this and that. I liked looking at the familiar images through her eyes. She is an artist, and made visual comments I had never thought of, such as the fact that this little fern looks like a forest seen from above:

DSC05199

I also took a walk down the bike path, which was more yellow than red, but still beautifully dressed in its fall look.

DSC05181

Looking out the window, my view is now all shades of grey and not much else. It is nice to think of all the color from the previous weekends.

DSC05221

