Seven is a big show-off. And a mat hog. Whenever I roll out my mat to practice, she will come and spread herself on it, stretching and showing off how flexible she is. She knows I can’t compete with her on that department, and likes to rub it in…

She ignores all my efforts to encourage her to sit on something else. The brown sweater next to the mat is her all-time favorite sweater to sit on, at all other times at least. Except when I want her to use it. Of course.

While I practice, she hovers and moves around. If I am at one end of the mat, she will sit on the other, waiting for me to move. It makes it hard to focus, especially when I need to step back. I always worry about kicking or stepping on her, which has happened a number of times. My moves are gentle, but still…

But when I am finished, and she leans against me for the final pose, adding warmth and purring to the end of a session, all is forgiven.

I know I shouldn’t complain, as she really thinks she is helping, or at least joining in something fun we share together. And, or course, I am so proud of her for not being one of those brats who play and leave before clean-up is done: here she is, ‘helping’ me roll up the mat.

