I had never been around so much fresh water in my life until I moved to the U.S. I understand it is not such a big deal, but I am still amazed at the fact. I also realise that I probably sound like a broken record, with such mundane observations over masses of water, but water has always been extremely important to me. I grew up thinking of directions not in terms of north and south, but of “towards the sea” or “away from it” (which, in my hometown translates roughly to south and north respectively).

I have been fortunate enough to have lived in cities by the sea ever since. Perhaps not always as close or prominent, but I have always been aware of the sea’s presence. And I ‘ve always been able to hear the seagulls. There is something very special to lying in bed and hearing the seagulls in the early morning…

Cleveland is, of course, not by the sea. A big minus, in my opinion, but I don’t have to live there. Last time we visited my in-laws, L. and I went to Geneva on the Lake. The place is a typical old-style American summer resort, with small houses for rent, and a broad-walk style street full of tourist shops, greasy food and ample parking space for the hundreds of bikers that descended on it throughout the day.

I hate to admit that my fascination with places like that runs out rather quickly, as they have no childhood connotations for me to keep me entertained after the first sweep of reconnaissance. The lake, or more specifically the water, did stir something inside me, though, and I would say in all certainty that the best part of the day was having a drink by the water, which looked (but did not smell) like the sea, knowing that Canada must be somewhere out there at the other side.

