It has been a while since I had the time to post here, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been making things. On the contrary, I seem to have been in a finishing mode, making and completing all kinds of short projects. In fact, it may take a couple of posts to go through them all! For today’s installment, I think I ‘ll start with some quick projects from a couple of weeks back.

I made a new iPod case, a very simple sleeve made with some simple cotton fabric from IKEA, with a tiny piece of blue fabric at the top. It has a pocket for the headphones, and a little loop that I never used. I was supposed to have a button at the front for the loop to go around, but all my buttons are somewhere hidden in a box I can not locate at the moment. In the meantime I have realised I don’t really need it, so I am considering cutting it off anyway.

I also made a pair of fingerless gloves in a wonderful, soft and incredibly warm yarn (suri dream from Knitpicks.) They are as soft and warm as Seven’s tummy, and they are almost the same color as well. So I named them my number-colored fingerless gloves (Ravelry link.)

The “pattern” is a very simple tube of 2×2 rib knit in the round over 36 stitches with 3.75mm dpn’s. When I reached the place I wanted to have the thumb opening, I made a buttonhole (I think it was just 4 st. that I bound off and cast them on again on the next round, but I could have gone with 5 or 6. As they are now, the thumb is a bit tight, but I have very thin fingers so it feels fine for me) and kept knitting until desired length. After casting off, I picked up 11 st. around the thumb opening and knit a few rows in the round again, cast off that, and it’s done! I knit both thumbs together at the end, so they ‘d be the same. I would have been very annoyed if one thumb felt tighter or in any way different than the other!

