It felt so much longer, that I find it surprising it has only been a month since I last wrote here. Perhaps because February is a shorter month? (why is everyone picking on poor February…)

Time passes differently when you live two separate lives, in two separate cities. I find myself setting up everything twice, and that applies to my crafts. So now I work on two sweaters, one in each place. Progress shots are quite boring though, so you ‘ll have to take my word for it.

A project that just missed the last post is this luxurious cowl I made for my (long past now) birthday. As I have enough yarn and other supplies to last me for a couple of years, my gifts to myself now consist of actually making me something, rather than buying me something. Win-win!

This lovely cowl is made by two skeins of Misti Alpaca Chunky and using the Honey Cowl pattern by Madelinetosh as a basis (ravelry link here). I cast on 156 stitches and hoped for the best. Although the cowl looked like it was going to be too short while on the needles, it actually ended up a bit on the long side, and I have to wear it twisted twice if I want it to be anywhere near my neck and keep me warm. The yarn is absolutely wonderful, though, so soft and silky. This is the second birthday project I have made for myself made of alpaca. I may be setting a trend here…

