My summer cardigan is complete! It took a bit over a month to make, and most of it was done in motion: in buses, trains, during lunch breaks. Only the really messy parts, like the top two fronts down to armhole, were done at home. The patterns I follow ask you to do them both at the same time, and there are just too many yarn ends floating around to make it comfortable for knitting in motion.

This pattern is inspired by Augusta  from Dolce Handknits (it is the third thumbnail), but from what I saw about the pattern, it is bottom-up. I didn’t want to pay for a pattern I won’t end up following, as I prefer to make things top-down. So I just looked at it, and did what I could to emulate this beautiful cardigan. Naturally, the end result is reminiscent but not the same, but I am still very happy with it.

The color of the yarn (Cactus, of Jo Sharp Soho Summer DK Cotton) reminds me of the fresh, baby leaves of spring. It is splitting a bit too much, and was rather slippery for metal needles, so I had to use bamboo circulars to save my hands from hurting too much. But it creates a soft and pleasant yarn to wear, which is perfect for the chilly summer days we are having lately.

I had to re-do the sleeve edges a couple of times before I ended up with the no-ruffle version. This yarn doesn’t really make good ruffles – it goes straight to wide drapes instead. Which is not a bad thing, if that’s what you want. In any case, I enjoyed making the pattern up as I went. I won’t bore you with them, but if you want more details you can find them in my Ravelry page. I know I will be wearing this a lot, and am itching to start my next summer cardigan project. There is even more travelling ahead of me for the summer, and I ‘ll need something to keep me centered.

