baby shoes

I hope everyone had a lovely Christmas, and are now in the throws of indigestion and holiday sloth! Ours was quiet, we didn’t travel anywhere this year, so we stayed home with the cats, cooked, and enjoyed some quiet time at home.

Meanwhile, I have a confession to make: I don’t know about you, but every time I see baby ultrasound photos on blogs I like to follow, I have mixed feelings about it. My initial reaction is, of course, to be happy for the new mother and the happy times that will follow for her. However, I find the images themselves are either a little too creepy, or a little too personal for posting for all to see. I am also aware that the blog I followed with great interest for perhaps years, will never be the same (especially if that is the author’s first baby). I expect them to disappear from circulation for a while, and to see primarily baby stuff in their creations afterwards. I admit that somewhere in my selfish part, I am a little disappointed to loose a blogger I have enjoyed following for a while.

Now it is time for me to eat my words, and perhaps revisit all these new mothers’ blogs for projects and ideas for things they made for their own babies! I actually disappeared quite a while ago due to my unsettled weekly schedule, but for the last 7,5 months I have had another good excuse: the exhaustion of creating 2 new lives while working full-time, and tackling (yet another) move during the first trimester. The twins are expected anytime in February (I forbid them to show up earlier than that, and I hope they will listen to their mother!)

As expected, the closer we are getting to D-day, I only have baby in the brain, so the only recipient of handmade gifts this Christmas was my brother’s 6-month old girl. A couple of days ago I tried my hand at a pair of baby shoes, but never tried myself. Mine look a little wonky, and I am aware that one looks larger than the other, but this was just my fault for making the elastic too tight on the second one, and once I fixed that they were much more even 😉

The pattern I used is very well written, and now I am ready to make more, this time for my 4-legged bundle of joy, as well as for what seems to be a surprising number of newborns among friends families (a total of 8, with ours!) I presume I might go the way every other blogger I mentioned before, and be either elusive or talk primarily about baby crafts. But I do have lots of great ideas for making practical, eco-friendly and pocket-friendly baby projects, so some may even find my posts interesting.

But for now, enjoy the best week of the year, the post-Christmas / pre New Year’s week!

