You are currently browsing the daily archive for 19 September 2013.

20130919-063035.jpg

yes, I know, that’s only two!

Where do we find supplies for our crafts? I ‘m sure most of us have several sources for the raw materials, so to speak. This is certainly true for me. I try to recycle as much as possible, and always look for projects that use t-shirt material, as we seem to have an abundance of them in our household. I would like to go to thrift stores more often, but I find them (at least in New York City) quite unappealing and, frankly, borderline disgusting. But whenever I do go, I appreciate the variety and the prices.

I would say, though, that the most inspiring kinds of fabrics for me are fat quarters from JoAnn. They are like candy to me, I can’t stop buying them, and they are the first place I go to when looking for fabrics to make things. Thankfully (for the sake of our budget) I have no easy access to a store on a regular basis, and I can only go there when visiting my in-laws. That is usually during a long weekend, and long weekends always mean sales, which means I can get the fat quarters for a bit over a dollar each.

A couple of weeks ago I had one such trip to the “local” store, and sure enough I came home with a rainbow of fat quarters. I couldn’t resist, and used one immediately to make three little drawstring bags (have I mentioned how much I love drawstring bags? ha!) They are very simple, just the one fabric, no embellishments. I just wanted a quick and simple project, but the fabric is so pretty I don’t think they need anything else anyway. Their size was determined by how you can fold a fat quarter in six. I am using the one already to keep some embroidery thread I also bought at same shopping spree, and the other two are going into my stash of bags for future use (which probably means until our next weekend trip, or before.)

Flickr Photos

More Listmakerkat

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

Visitors map