20131006-173850.jpg
Saturday was a good day for baking. I dug out the bread maker, the bread machine cook book a friend gave me as a gift a couple of years ago, and we started looking through recipes. we have been wanting to make our own bread regularly for a long time now, and perhaps this time we will stick with it. Our plan is to try as many as we can of the recipes in the book, and find those we ‘d like to make our staple.

The book is The bread lover’s bread machine book, a very thorough and easy to read / follow recipes book. My only deviation from the recipes is that it suggests you add baker’s gluten in pretty much every recipe, which makes the bread rise etc. better. In the beginning I used to add it, but after I stopped I can’t say I have seen much difference, so I just stopped. Neither of us is allergic to gluten, but why add more if you don’t need it? I am not sure how ethical / legal it is to post recipes from a published book, even though it may count as advertising. So, lets say that as I go through the various recipes, I will reproduce only the ones I really really like, or ones that I will modify considerably.
We started our exploration through the book with a whole wheat flaxseed bread, which I would rate as a 3 out of 5 for my personal liking. It came out dense and moist, the flaxseed gave it a nice texture, but the honey made it a little too sweet for my taste. Would I make it again? Probably not – too sweet.

20131006-173911.jpg

Apart from the bread, I also made some tilapia filets, which came out very good. Since I made this from memory, and it is a classic where I come from, I can share without reservations:

  • Slice 1 onion in thin rings or sticks, and a lemon in thin slices
  • Lay the fish filets on a baking dish of your choice, and spread the onion and lemon over them
  • Sprinkle with olive oil, the juice of 1 lemon, fresh dill, salt & pepper, and dried oregano
  • Bake for 20 min. on 400F

Serve with mashed potatoes, steamed or baked vegetables, and use any left overs for fish sandwiches the next day.

Enjoy!

