One of my favorite spaces in the new house is a small nook off the kitchen. It is small enough to fit a table and 4 chairs, but it is by a big window, complete with prime squirrel viewing, has its own heating and thermostat (scary thought, considering the winters here), and it has quickly become a happy place of family togetherness.

Naturally, I made sure to fill it with color and fun things to keep everyone happy and interested during meal times. Toys and books have a permanent place on the window sill. Coasters are also a must, as the only table that would fit is actually a rather ugly plastic work table.

IMG_9381

The walls were closing in on me bare, so I enlisted the boys’ help and we made a large mural with a magical village (sorry about the odd lines in the photo, some kind of camera malfunction.)

IMG_9105

Aaaargh! I am turning into my aunt, who always put tea towels on the wall 🙂 In fact, I really like the reminder of her quirky habit. The birds are hers, the fish are from my mum’s collection. I remember the times, all through up to my college years, when a colorful tea towel was a must for the Christmas list for both my mum and my aunt. I don’t buy them any more, but I still enjoy being surrounded by the ones we gathered all these years. Oh, the excitement of shopping for and giving them away!

IMG_9252

Here is another shot of the table with two older projects, a set of table coasters and some cloth napkins I made several years ago.

IMG_8850

IMG_9380

